Statistics and Demographics


The Village of Los Lunas is the county seat of Valencia County, NM.  According to the 2010 US Decennial Census, the population of Los Lunas was 14,835, and the American Communities Survey for 2015 was 15,281.

Visit the links below for detailed statistics for the Village of Los Lunas, covering economics, housing, and demographics:

2010 Demographic Profile Data
2011-2015 Selected Economic Characteristics
2011-2015 Selected Housing Characteristics
2011-2015 ACS Demographic and Housing Estimates

Valencia County

Valencia County is populated by several communities. Incorporated areas are the Village of Los Lunas, Village of Bosque Farms, Town of Peralta, City of Belen, and City of Rio Communities. Unincorporated areas include Tomé, Adelino, Meadow Lake, El Cerro, Valencia, El Cerro Mission, Las Maravillas, and a few others. According to the 2010 US Decennial Census, the population of Valencia County was 76,569, and the American Community Survey estimated population for 2015 was 75,737.

Based on 2011-2015 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates, the median household of Valencia County is $41,703 - the 8th highest in the state. Los Alamos county ($101,934), Sandoval county ($58,982), Lea county ($57,533), Eddy county ($56,618), and Santa Fe county ($54,315) have the 1st through 5th highest median household incomes in NM, respectively. 


In New Mexico all tangible personal and real property is subject to an ad valorem tax which is assessed by each county at the rate of 33.33% of value. Gross receipts (sales) tax are: Los Lunas and Belen are 8.3125%, Bosque Farms is 8.1875% and Valencia County, 6.875%.

Gross receipts tax is paid according to where an item is purchased. Purchased in Los Lunas then 8.3125%; purchased in Valencia County then 6.875%. New Mexico levies a tax on the net income of every resident or nonresident employed or engaged in the transaction of business in, into or from the state.

Village of Los Lunas

The Village of Los Lunas has a Mayor and four Village Councilors.

Current officials are:
  • Mayor Charles Griego
  • Cruz Munoz
  • Phillip Jaramillo
  • Gino Romero
  • Christopher Ortiz
Los Lunas has a Police Department. The Valencia County Sheriff’s Department, as well as the New Mexico State Police, can be called on for assistance. Naithan Gurule serves as police chief. Municipal Judge is Avilio Chavez.

Los Lunas Fire Department consists of four full-time firefighters and many volunteers provide fire fighting capabilities. One fire station is located in the middle of the Village.

The Village Administration is located at the corner of Don Pasqual and Main Street.

P.O. Box 1209
Los Lunas, NM 87031
(505) 839-3840

The Village Administrator is Gregory D. Martin.